The Mountains Are Calling and I Must Go

Less than 72 hours ago, I waddled across the sands at San Francisco’s Ocean Beach. It was 8am, and my 6 teammates and I had just dipped our rear wheels into the Pacific Ocean to mark the start of our cross country bike ride. The morning was fogless – which, I’ve been told, rarely happens in San Francisco – and my intrepid teammates and I set forth to conquer the continent before us.

Two hours, a flat tire, and a broken chain later, we had yet to leave the beach parking lot. So much for a fast start.

Amanda replacing her Chain at Ocean Beach. I guess that's natures way of saying what up.

Amanda replacing her Chain at Ocean Beach. I guess that’s natures way of saying what up.

 

Right now I’m wrapped in Flannel outside of a cabin in the Sierra foothills and very much bemoaning the romantic ideas I had about biking across the country. Sure, I’m still excited to meet people and visit places that I never would have before, but some chaffing and burning quads have been a jarring reality check.

As the crow flies, I’m about 121 miles away from San Francisco. 3 days and 200+ miles of biking, and I feel like I’ve already seen a lot of the country. From the traffic lights and glitz of San Francisco

Breakfast at the Java Beach Café in San Francisco.

Breakfast at the Java Beach Café in San Francisco.

 

To the people of Santa Rosa, California

Max, one of the riders, lives in Santa Rosa. His family and friends came over to his house for a dinner and fundraising event.

Max, one of the riders, lives in Santa Rosa. His family and friends came over to his house for a dinner and fundraising event.

 

To the flat roads and vineyards of Napa County

DSCF0074

Me and my lurvely, lurvely grapes

To some peacocks straight chillin outside of Davis, CA

Amanda and a wild peacock

Amanda and a wild peacock

 

to the bridges of Sacramento, completely deserted on an earlier Sunday morning

Crossing the Sacromento River into the city center of Sacromento. Locals call the city "Sac," which can lead to some confusion occasionally.

Crossing the Sacromento River into the city center of Sacromento. Locals call the city “Sac,” which can lead to some confusion. Its also just a really, really unfortunate name for a city.

 

to strawberry stands on the side of the road near Placerville, CA

Delicious.

Delicious.

Tomorrow we climb 5000+ feet through Carson Pass (hence the name of the blog post) as we make our way to Lake Tahoe. Stay Classy.

 

Leave a Reply

